A child after my own heart.

9 12 2010

So this evening I had one of those awesome glimpses into who my children are. Some quick background info: Anna has lost a few teeth recently and had 2 dollars from the tooth fairy. Anna and Morgan were both promised a reward for a number of tough days we’ve had in the past week where their behavior has remained exemplary. We have to make a late night trip to the store for a gift to go to Anna’s school party, of course due in the morning. The stage is set.

Anna, Morgan, and myself are wandering the isles of our local Wal-Mart in the fashion that I typically shop when unsupervised. To say the least it is a very organic process. First I circling the perimeter looking for the various zones I will need to hit, not wavering more than a few feet for any item I will be able to get on the next pass. This is also the pass where I try to isolate sales and remember what in the world it was that I came to get. When my children are thrown into this stage it adds new tangents or conversations, “Where do pomegranates grow?” “Which rice is better, the orange box or the gray bag?” “What if the lobsters had babies, would they get their own tank?” Finally we emerge and commit to a checkout line. This time of year in Cool Springs you can count on a line no matter the time of day or night, and no matter how many lanes are open. Anna begins thinking aloud and ultimately resolves to give Morgan one of her dollars. This will enable them to both pick some gum because even with tax it will be less than a dollar. Morgan quickly agrees and decides on icebreakers. Anna picks fruitstripe gum and jumps in the front of the line. Anna pays for the gum herself, says “yes ma’am… thank you,” takes her receipt and change, steps to the side, and waits patiently with the efficiency of a seasoned shopper. Morgan observes this whole exchange and watches very, very closely. She looks down at her ice breakers then at her dollar, or rather Anna’s dollar. Then with expert nonchalance she slides her icebreakers onto the belt with the other groceries and steps to the side easing the dollar back into her pocket. I, already knowing the answer, ask “whatcha doing?” Morgan’s reply is polite but very frank, “If you buy the mints then I can keep the dollar for later.” The cashier and I exchange amused glances. I reply to Morgan, “I will and you can, but maybe you should think about your sisters generosity to share that with you and if you should really keep it.” She stared long and hard at the dollar the whole way home (Anna spent the car ride home discussing what we learned about pomegranates and never thought of the dollar again). Morgan is obviously now facing great emotional turmoil. The dollar is sitting on their shared dresser and I couldn’t be more anxious to see where it goes next.

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 12 2010
Jenni

This reminds me of the time I accidentally shoplifted.

13 12 2010
Lisa

I’m sooooo glad you have a blog.

16 01 2011
Erin

Just so you know, Jenni and I discussed pomegranates (including internet searches) for quite awhile after reading this.

Leave a Reply

